Scroll Top


75th most populous country on earth

Guinea, a long-form Guinea-Conakry named after its capital to differentiate it from Guinea-Bissau and Equatorial Guinea, is a country on the Atlantic coast of West Africa.

Surrounded by Guinea Bissau (385 km of borders), Senegal (330 km), Mali (858 km), Ivory Coast (610 km), Liberia (563 km), the Sierra Leone (652 km) and the Atlantic Ocean, Guinea is at a turning point after decades of authoritarian rule since gaining its independence from France in 1958.

Guinea held its first free and competitive democratic presidential and legislative elections in 2010 and 2013 respectively, and in October 2015 held a second consecutive presidential election.