Scroll Top
Capital Kigali
11.61 Million Population
77th most populous country on earth

Rwanda is a landlocked country in East Africa. Africa’s largest lake country, Rwanda, which covers an area of 26,338km², is one of the smallest states in Africa. Nicknamed the country of a thousand hills, Rwanda is more than 1000 meters high. The country is bordered on the west by the DRC, on the north by Uganda, on the east by Tanzania and on the south by Burundi.

After being separated from the Belgian Congo, which became independent in 1960, Rwanda-Burundi was in turn split into two independent states in 1962. One of them is Rwanda, whose president is Georges Kayibanda. The history of this country is punctuated by numerous conflicts between the Tutsi minority, which exerts a great political influence, and the majority Hutu. In 1973, a coup led the Minister of Defense, General Juvenal Habyarimana, to power. Multipartyism is reestablished in the early 1990s, but a deadly attack on Hutu President Habyarimana on 6 April 1994 provokes an unprecedented outbreak of violence.